Sustainable Agriculture


Sustainable Agriculture: This interdepartmental major is for students interested in understanding relationships between food security, environmental quality, rural development, and farming practice. The program offers M.S. (thesis and non-thesis) and Ph.D. degrees; double majors and minors are also possible. Students within the program develop in-depth disciplinary knowledge under the direction of a faculty supervisor, but also take a series of team-taught core courses that integrate perspectives from agricultural production disciplines, ecology, environmental science, and social sciences. If you are interested in this program, you must apply through their website at http://www.sust.ag.iastate.edu/gpsa/

Faculty in Sustainable Agriculture

Dr. M. Al-Kaisi
Soil Management and Environment
2104D Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-8304
malkaisi@iastate.edu

Dr. C. Cambardella
310 NLAE,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-2921
cindy.cambardella@ars.usda.gov

Dr. R.M. Cruse
Soil Management
3212 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-7850
rmc@iastate.edu

Dr. K. Delate
Organic Crops Specialist
106 Horticulture Building,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-2751
kdelate@iastate.edu

Dr. Gene Takle
Climate Change and Wind Energy
3013 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-9871
gstakle@iastate.edu

Dr. C. Gardner
G214 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-7967
gardnerc@iastate.edu

Dr. S. Goggi
Seed Physiology
195C Seed Science Building,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-6372
susana@iastate.edu

Dr. Andrew Lenssen
Cropping Systems
1405 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-1060
alenssen@iastate.edu

Dr. J. Hatfield
Agricultural Meterology
108A NLAE,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-5723
jerry.hatfield@ars.usda.gov

Dr. Emily Heaton
1403 Agronomy,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-1310
heaton@iastate.edu

Dr. D. Karlen
314 NLAE,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-3336
doug.karlen@ars.usda.gov

Dr. T. Kaspar
Crop Production and Physiology
238 NLAE,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-8873
Tom.Kaspar@ars.usda.gov

Dr. M.Z. Liebman
Agricultural Ecology
1401 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-7486
mliebman@iastate.edu

Dr. S.D. Logsdon
Soil Physics and soil management
222 NLAE,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-8265
sally.logsdon@ars.usda.gov

Dr. T.E. Loynachan
Soil Microbiology
1126H Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-3064
teloynac@iastate.edu

Dr. A.P. Mallarino
Soil Fertility and Nutrient Management
3216 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-6200
apmallar@iastate.edu

Dr. R.E. Mullen
Crop Physiology and Production
1126F Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-3271
remullen@iastate.edu

Dr. Sotirios Archontoulis
Cropping Systems and Modeling
1216 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-7413
sarchont@iastate.edu

Dr. T. Sauer
214 NLAE,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-3416
tom.sauer@ars.usda.gov

Dr. Fernando Miguez
1206 Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-5980
femiguez@iastate.edu

Dr. M.H. Wiedenhoeft
Crop Production and Physiology
1126D Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-3274
mwiedenh@iastate.edu


Dr. Michael Castellano
Soil Science
2104L Agronomy Hall,
Iowa State University,
Ames, IA 50011,
515-294-3963
castelmj@iastate.edu